Edward Cullen

by thepowerofwordss

Yes…I am going there.

Twilight is a series of four vampire themed fantasy, romance novels by author Stephenie Meyer. The story charts the life of Isabella “Bella” Swan who moves to Forks, Washington and falls in love with Edward Cullen, a 104 year old vampire. The Twilight series is predominately told from Bella’s perspective with the epilogue from Eclipse and Part II of Breaking Dawn told in Jacob Black’s perspective.

Since the release of the first novel in 2005, the books have gained immense popularity and success. As of 2010, the books have sold over 116 million copies and translated into at least 38 different languages. The books have also been made into the Twilight Saga series of motion pictures by Summit Entertainment. The first three movies were released in 2008, 2009, and 2010. The fourth book is being made into a two part series.

I know a lot of people do not like Twilight. There is no real plot development or character development. I am aware of this. However, the Twilight Series is a big guilty pleasure of mine. I have read the books multiple times and have seen the movies…multiple times as well. Do you ever read a book and dread reading it? I can admit I do at times. To take a break from dreadful, required reading books that do not necessarily hold my interest, I like to read Twilight. To be honest, it does not require a lot of thought for me and I can complete a book within a couple days.

When you think of characters from Twilight, what is the first character that comes to mind? For me it is Edward Cullen. “So ready for this to be the end, for this to be the twilight of your life, though your life has barely started. You’re ready to give up everything.” Oh Twilight. How much more sappiness and unnecessary coddling can you put in your text? No matter how sappy and “tweenie” the romance is, I still eat it up.

Everyone has a guilty pleasure they indulge in. My guilty pleasure is Twilight and I am proud to admit it.

