Ulysses S. Grant

by thepowerofwordss

Ulysses S. Grant was the 18th President of the United States and a military commander during the Civil War. Grant commanded the the Union Army and helped defeat the Confederate State of America. Confederate commander, Robert E. Lee, denounced Grant as a ruthless butcher who won the war by brute force. However, most historians hailed Grant as a military genius.

After leaving office, Grant went on a two year world tour. In 1880, he made an unsuccessful third bid for presidency. Some historians, until recently, have deemed Grant’s presidency the worst rankings. His reputation however improved because of greater appreciation for his African American voting enforcement and citizenship rights during Reconstruction.

Now that the history lesson is done, I’ll tell a quick fact about myself. I absolutely love the Civil War. Ever since high school history class I have been infatuated with the Civil War. Besides the exception of World War II, I absolutely hate learning about wars. I find discussing wars boring and they frankly put me to sleep. But for some reason, I could discuss the Civil War with someone for hours. The issues, the battles, the people all make me very excited and eager to learn.

One of the main people I think of when I think of the Civil War is Ulysses S. Grant (being in the North, someone in the Union came to mind faster than the confederacy). I once read this quote from Grant in one of my history books, “The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on.”

Like I said previously, I am usually not that interested in war. I am not very intelligent when it comes to military strategy, military technique or examining the technicalities of war. This is why I am fond of this quote. Grant’s quote describes war very simply. War is a complex and it is difficult to grasp the different aspects of what goes into a war. However, Grant describes war in the precise manner any average person would see it. Sometimes, it is difficult to put into words how much destruction, violence, and complexity a war causes. But Grant very simply and nicely put into words the reality of war.

