Audrey Hepburn

by thepowerofwordss

Audrey Hepburn was a British actress and humanitarian. Hepburn remains one of the world’s most famous actresses. In particular, she is remembered in film and as a fashion icon of the twentieth century. Most notably, Hepburn appeared in films such as Breakfast at Tiffany’s and My Fair Lady. Hepburn is also one of the only people to have won an Oscar, Emmy, Grammy, and Tony Award. Although she appeared in less films as she aged, she devoted the rest of her life to UNICEF. In 1993, Hepburn died of appendiceal cancer at her home in Switzerland. Although almost two decades have passed since her death, Hepburn remains an icon to many.

When I first saw Breakfast at Tiffany’s, I was instantly drawn to Hepburn’s grace and poise. She seemed to exude what being a women was in that time period yet still separated herself from the crowd with her independence.

I once read Audrey Hepburn said, “I don’t want to be alone, I want to be left alone.” I found this quote quite funny in a way. When a person thinks of Audrey Hepburn, they think of a humanitarian or a sweet and beautiful actress. I just found it contradictory that an actress characterized as so would feel this way in some sense.

But at the same time, how true is this quote for everyone at some point. The happiest person just wants to be left alone sometimes and not bothered sometimes. I simply got a chuckle out of the quote. I could have picked one of Audrey’s more “girlier” or “feminine” quote to discuss. However, these quote are seen all too often on Facebook, Myspace, or…well…other blog websites.

Overall, I find Audrey Hepburn very inspiring. Her grace and selflessness are very admirable. But the fact of the matter is, well, I guess we all want to be left alone now and again.

