“The length of a film should be directly related to the endurance of the human bladder”

by thepowerofwordss

Usually my blog posts refer to one particular topic/quote/person/book. However, I thought I would switch it up a bit this time. Quotes can come derive from a wide aspect of mediums. Quotes come from books, speeches, television shows, interviews, etc. However, some of my favorite quotes come directly from movies. I am a huge movie buff. In my spare time, you will find me watching a movie. I am also one of those annoying people that watch movies over and over again and repeat the lines from the movie as they happen. So instead of annoying people, I decided I will  put some of my favorite movies and quotes from the movie in a post today. Here are a couple of my favorites:

The Dead Poet’s Society

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer: that you are here; that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?”

Dirty Dancing

“Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.”

Mean Girls

“Calling somebody else fat won’t make you any skinnier. Calling somebody else stupid doesn’t make you any smarter. And ruining Regina George’s life definitely didn’t make me any happier. All you can do in life is try to solve the problem in front of you.”

The Wizard of Oz

“Someplace where there isn’t any trouble…do you suppose there is such a place, Toto? There must be. It’s not a place you can get to by a boat or train. It’s far, far away… behind the moon… beyond the rain.”

Casablanca

“And you never will. But I’ve got a job to do too. Where I’m going, you can’t follow. What I’ve got to do, you can’t be any part of. Ilsa, I’m no good at being noble, but it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. Someday you’ll understand that. Here’s looking at you, kid.”

I saved my favorite movie for last. Casablanca is one of my all time favorite movies. Old fashioned movies have always been a love of mine and they provide some of the best quotes out there. As a side note, I will probably expand on some of these quotes in the future!

