Steve Jobs

by thepowerofwordss

It has been over a month since Steve Jobs passed away. Jobs was a business man and a highly recognized visionary in the field of technology. Most notably, Jobs was best known for being a co-founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Apple Incorporated. I have heard many different opinions on Steve Jobs. Some say he was a greedy jerk while others praise him as a technological, innovative god of sorts. What is my opinion? I feel as though I do not know enough about him to praise or denounce him.

There is one thing that irks me significantly about his death however. I, in no way, disrespect Steve Jobs or intend anything I say to be disrespectful. However, being an information technology major, I find it very disheartening that other men of his magnitude were not recognized as much as Jobs was. Dennis Ritchie, founder of Unix and the inventor of C, died three days after Jobs. Ritchie made just as much, if not more, progress in the field of information technology as Steve Jobs did. Ritchie did not get as much recognition or attention as Jobs did even though he made large steps in the field of computers and technology. This upsets me. However, the determining aspect that must not go unnoticed is Jobs’ dedicated drive, will, and vision of the future that makes him a significant public figure.

The one thing that is undeniable is Jobs’ passion and charisma. The name ‘Steve Jobs’ is known world wide. When you think of a leading force behind the Apple brand you think of this man. Although I do not know much about him as a person or businessman, it is evident that Jobs was a innovative mastermind that pushed the limits of technology and society. I believe this aspect of an individual is admirable.

“Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”

As a public figure, Steve Jobs inspires me to push myself to be the best possible person I can be. Jobs dropped out of college and made something of yourself. You don’t have to have a masters degree or doctorate to push yourself and be innovative, creative, or create something all your own. Jobs inspires people to have the same passion and drive that drove him. When you lose the passion and the drive, that is when you are a failure. When you lose the hunger, the dots will not connect.

